Inspiration is BACK!

The inspiration to start writing and blogging has struck again.  Without going into all the “woe is me” drama, I had been pretty overwhelmed, stressed, and unmotivated for a very long time.  With the stress of working full time during the summer, sneaking into the school to set up and plan for teaching two different subjects in two different schools, trying to enjoy the outdoors while my state was on fire, and training for the Rock n’ Roll half in which I was trying to obtain a PR (I did, by the way… 2:14!!), I was just too busy, too stressed, and too uninspired.

Well, after a whirlwind January full of trials and tribulations (sparing the details to not sound so whiny), the man and I are doing an inspired, motivated, planned life overhaul.  The proverb below pretty much sums it up.

Time to turn it around

Time to turn it around

Additionally, I read two articles (from different months) in Women’s Health. The Benefits of Quitting Drinking and an article about chronic apathy (its in the current issue, so no link yet), really hit home with me.  We (the boy and I) had both gotten into this level of apathy and having a cocktail (or three) everyday after work.  It’s a viscous cycle that I am SO OVER!

I’ve gone to the gym more in the past week than I have in the past two months.  I’ve made the effort to spend at least 2 to 3 hours on the slopes each weekend, and take my dog for longer walks (I think even he is feeling apathetic/bored).  I feel better in the past two weeks than I have since AUGUST! Screen Shot 2013-02-09 at 10.23.22 AM

It’s somewhat hard to see, but its a spread sheet of the activity I’ve done, created in the great Apple Numbers program.  Basically, it tracks what exercises I’ve done, as well as the percentage of time I spend doing each.  It also has a run tracker, where I can enter my time and mileage, and it tracks my pace.  It also has a “goal” section, and I’ve already set rough mileage goals for the year.

Lastly, being the good Catholic that I am, and Lent is quickly approaching (next Wednesday is Ash Wednesday, the official start of Lent), I’d been thinking “What can I give up?”  I’ve decided that this year, I’m not necessarily going to “give up” anything, but rather, attempt a somewhat daily (5 days per week) Yoga routine, in addition to my whole life re-do approach, which the hopes that by centering myself and going though the meditative process, I won’t be engaging or engaged in, all the other “bad” or “negative” aspects of my life.

Sort-of what I did this AM

Sort-of what I did this AM

I spent 40 minutes doing a hip-opener and twisting yoga routine, of which helps to cleanse the body of toxins (the twists) and release tension (the hip openers).  I feel better already!

Cheers to new beginnings!  When do you realize that “something needs to change” and what have you done about it?

Say your piece... Leave a comment!

