Hey there slowpoke!

I am a week and a half into my training plan for the Denver Rock n’ Roll Marathon.  So far, its been going… OK.   I have been able to get in all my workouts (but have had to shuffle some of the days due to work, social events, etc.) Some workouts are great, I sweat, my heart rate is elevated.  I know I’m killing it.  Last week, I did my long run of 5 miles in just under 55 minutes.  I was glad that I was below the 11MPM pace. I did a 4X400 Interval Workout Tuesday, and it was tough, but I felt great about it.  Yesterday’s run was well, not so hot.

Yesterday, ran 4 miles, in 48 MINUTES AND 5 SECONDS.  That’s over a 12 MINUTE PER MILE PACE.  Yes, I know it was an “easy” run day.  I think my first mile split was 14:32.  I could have walked faster.  My legs were saying “Go”, my lungs were saying “G0”, but I couldn’t go.  Plod. Plod. Plop. Plop.

At least I had this as a view:

View from 10, 700 ft

 

See that mountain all the way to the left?  That’s Quandary Peak, Summit County’s only 14er standing at 14, 265 feet tall.  My view is from Boreas Pass Road, the old railroad road, and I’m roughly at 10,700 ft at this pic.  I think its closer to 10,800 feet elevation.  Oh, did I mention my run climbs nearly 2,000 feet?  Maybe that accounts for part of my slowness (although, I run this route at least once a week, and can usually cover it in roughly 10MPM).

I’m  sure my $hitty running lately is in a direct result to what I’m eating (or not eating) and certainly what I’m drinking (wine).  It is very clear that there is a direct correlation to the success of my runs and the food and drinks I put into my body.  I MUST get serious about eating as clean as possible, as well as drinking plenty of water. I do well for 3 or 4 days, then drink a ton of beer and eat pizza or fried foods.  I KNOW I feel better when I work out, I KNOW I feel better when I eat cleanly, my skin looks WAY better when I drink at least 5 or 6 glasses of water per day.  Knowing all this, you’d think I would actually consistently stick to my eating plan. But, rather than beat myself up, especially after yesterday’s run, I just need to get back on the saddle and do my best each day.  One piece of pie is no big deal, HALF the pie is.

Anyways, enough moaning.  What motivates you to stick to a clean eating plan? Any tips for staying consistently on track?

The Red Railroad Road

One thought on “Hey there slowpoke!

  1. Pingback: Lead Legs | …A Life in the Clouds…

Say your piece... Leave a comment!

