Garden One Month In….

One month ago, I plated my plot at the Breckenridge Community Garden.

This is what it looked like then:

Day 1, prior to planting

 

This is what the garden looks like now:

The red fence and everything past that is the local Girl Scouts share of the plot.  No real growing there, just replanting store bought plants.  Half of them are dead.  Apparently, at high altitude, most plants do very poorly is they are replanted after being started indoors or at another location.  The vast majority of plants do much better starting in the ground.

Though I am proud of how much has grown so far, I am a bit jealous of some other plots, like the Town of Breckenridge’s right next to mine.  EVERYTHING is growing, and is evenly and beautifully spaced.  With the exception of my peas, my crops have not grown in pretty little spaced rows.  Some have migrated.  Some (cucumbers, 3 broccoli squares, and most lettuce)  hadn’t grown at all.  One of my squares (labeled Rouge Lettuce) is growing a bunch of plants that look suspiciously like the peas.  You be the judge:

Peas? Or Lettuce?

 

Also, one of my carrot plots looks suspiciously like a Rouge Lettuce is growing.  It will be a bit of a guessing game.

I spread out some of my planting so I wasn’t harvesting four squares of green beans, or 28 heads of lettuce all at the same time.  I really have no idea what I am doing.  I do know that my plants are at roughly the 2inch heat mark, which means they need to be “thinned”.  I think “thinned” is a nice way of saying “dug up and thrown out”.   I’m going to try and use some of my thinned peas and beans and replant them in some squares I left empty.

I have also replanted some squares that obviously weren’t going to grow anything.  I added onions and leeks into the garden, as well as replanted some broccoli.  Hopefully, I will at least have a moderate harvest.

Peas

For now, I have been shopping at Natural Grocers (one of two “organic” stores up here) as well as the Farmers Market to get a very paltry selection of veggies.  I can’t wait until I have my own crops, which I think shouldn’t be for another 4 to 6 weeks.

 

Anyone garden?  What is the best way to thin the plants?  How about average time till harvest for various veggies?

Say your piece... Leave a comment!

