Denver Half Training Day One & Veal Marinara

Well, I never ran the Slacker Half Marathon (I’ve been very bad at completing goals lately). I did have to work at my new summer job, and was leaving on vacation. So, I wasn’t too beat up about it. At least I got a race in (Run the Rockies 10K). However, I AM registered for the Denver Rock n Roll Half Marathon (have been since February) and I WILL run it. I chose the about.com “intermediate runner” training plan. I really don’t like the idea of paying $30 or more for a training plan., especially when so many are available online. The “intermediate runner” is someone who logs 15 or so miles per week (I do, sometimes :-/ ) has run 2 or 3 halfs and want to improve their time. I SO want to improve my time. No more than 2 hours, 10 minutes is my goal. I’m hoping training at 10000 feet will equate to better lungs/faster running at 5280 feet. Now, in honor of a runners favorite food (allegedly): Veal Marinara!

Ingredients
1- 1 pound chopped veal
2- 2 28 ounce cans Roma tomatoes (buy Del Cento, don’t go cheap, you’ll be disappointed)
3- 6 to 12 leaves of fresh Basil
4- Salt & Pepper
5- Crushed red pepper (to taste)
6- 4 cloves garlic, minced
7- 1/2 white onion, finely chopped
8- apx 1/4 cup EVOO
9- apx 1/4 cup red wine
9- 2 small baby carrots (to take away some of the acidity)

20120702-172122.jpg

DIRECTIONS
1- Chop onion and garlic, set aside

20120702-172545.jpg

2- Salt & pepper the veal, set aside

20120702-172657.jpg

3- Meanwhile, heat small amount of EVOO over medium high
4- Add onion until begins to sweat
5- Add garlic, then add veal when garlic is starting to sweat, continue to break up veal & cook until just slightly pink in the middle

20120702-172854.jpg

6- Strain veal, onion, garlic; set aside
7- Lower heat, pour wine, scraping bits, allowing alcohol to cook off
8- Add tomatoes, crush with hands or mashed potato smasher

20120702-173033.jpg

9- Add veal mixture

20120702-173110.jpg

10- Add salt & pepper, crushed red pepper, baby carrots, stir
11- Allow to simmer on medium low, stirring occasionally, until desired flavor develops
12- Add basil last minute of cooking

Plate & enjoy!

20120702-173239.jpg

Now, off to the gym for 60 minutes of cross training…what’s your favorite running/training fuel?

3 thoughts on “Denver Half Training Day One & Veal Marinara

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

Say your piece... Leave a comment!

